DIOCESAN CONFERENCE ‘That They May Have Faith’; Post-conference resources, including livestream recordings; workshop materials and much more Click here
Site search

One of the most important weekends in the Diocesan calendar is fast approaching as 24 ordinands - the largest number for some years - prepare for their retreat and then ordination weekend. 

On Wednesday, following a lunch for ordinands and their families at Bishop's House then service rehearsals at Blackburn Cathedral, they will go on retreat to our Centre for Christian Discipleship and Prayer at Whalley Abbey. 

They will be joined there by Bishop Julian, Bishop Philip and Bishop Jill, while Retreat Chaplain is Revd Nick McKee, Director of Vocations for the Diocese. 

All six of the Cathedral services will be livestreamed on the Blackburn Cathedral YouTube channel which is here (subscribe to the channel in advance for updates).  

The full list of soon-to-be Deacons and Priests - together with the dates and times of their ordination services is below. Please keep all our ordinands in your prayers in the coming days. 

As the week progresses, and then into next week, there will be further updates on our news pages. 

By Friday there will be a full 'pre-ordination' package on this website consisting of ...

  • the main pre-weekend news story; 
  • a video featuring a number of the ordinands alongside our three Bishops; 
  • background media questionnaires to find out more about each candidate;
  • specially taken individual pictures, alongside a (socially-distanced) group shot of candidates with the bishops which will be taken after the rehearsals on Wednesday 

Following the ordination services at the weekend a post-ordination media package will be issued and also added to this website featuring pictures taken after all six services. 

Social media: There will activity locally and nationally on social media, including Twitter, in the coming days, using #newrevs ... if you are active on social media and want to take part, use the hashtag and @cofelancs and @churchofengland for retweets 

Media coverage: The presence of each new ordinand is an important moment for many parishes across the County of Lancashire. On the back of all this activity, look out for coverage of the ordinations in local and regional media across the coming week following the issuing of our news releases; including on BBC Radio Lancashire. 

2021 Priests 

To be ordained Priest in the Cathedral Church of St Mary the Virgin with St Paul, on Saturday 3 July 2021 by the Bishop of Blackburn at 10:30am  

Revd Simon Christopher Lloyd
Nelson Little Marsden – Guy Jamieson 

Revd David Andrew Hargreaves
Barrowford St Thomas and Newchurch-in-Pendle St Mary – Julie Smith 

Revd Andrew David Holmes
Haslingden St James with Grane St Stephen and Stonefold St John (in plurality with) Musbury St Thomas – David Stephenson 

Revd Jane Louise Hudson Parker
Blackpool St Paul North Shore (in plurality with) Greenlands St Anne – Deborah Prest 

by the Bishop of Burnley at 1:30pm 

Revd Daniel James Freeman
Preston The Risen Lord – Alistair McHaffie 

Revd Kyle James Mulholland
Ansdell and Fairhaven St Paul – Paul Bye 

Revd Andrew James Dykes
Preston St John and St George the Martyr (Preston Minster) – Sam Haigh 

Revd Matthew John Robinson
Blackpool The Trinity – Peter Lillicrap 

by the Bishop of Lancaster at 4:30pm 

Revd Christina Isabella Walker
Dolphinholme with Quernmore and Over Wyresdale – Cindy Rigney 

Revd Angela Maria Letchford
Lancaster St Thomas – Jon Scamman 

Revd Catherine Louise Haydon
Poulton-le-Sands Holy Trinity with Morecambe St Laurence – Chris Krawiec 

Revd Matthew Willian Alan Guilder
Lancaster St Thomas – Jon Scamman 

2021 Deacons 

To be ordained Deacon in the Cathedral Church of St Mary the Virgin with St Paul, on Sunday 4 July 2021.

by the Bishop of Blackburn, Rt Rev. Julian Henderson, at 10:30am  

Mr Simon John King
Longridge St Lawrence with St Paul – Mike Barton

Mr Bryn George Naylor
Higher Walton All Saints and Hoghton Holy Trinity - Hannah Boyd       

Miss Amy Karen Bland
Euxton Parish - Jo Smith          

Mrs Francesca Elizabeth Gethin
Fulwood St Cuthbert – Mark Bradford    

by the Bishop of Lancaster, Rt Rev. Dr Jill Duff, at 4:30pm  

Mr Ian James McGrath
Ellel St John - Craig Abbott 

Mrs Anna Katriina Walker
Bamber Bridge St Aiden with Walton-le-Dale St Leonard - Shaun Baldwin 

Mrs Barbara Jayne Houghton
Preston St Stephen – Dave Hanson

Mrs Olivia Anastasia Jane Haines
Cockerham, Winmarleigh and Glasson – Gary Lewis

by the Bishop of Burnley, Rt Rev. Philip North, at 1:30pm  

Mr Mark Wooding
Leyland St John – Andy Meeson 

Mr Jordan Donald McDermott
Accrington St Andrew, St Mary Magdalen and St Peter and Church Kirk - David Arnold

Mr Matteo Zambon
Torrisholme the Ascension – Damian Porter 

Mr Simon Huw Griffiths
Preston All Saints – Nathan Buttery