CORONAVIRUS: Our latest updates; the 'coronavirus compendium'; general information; links to resources Click here for more
Site search

Last updated 26th July 2021

Meet the Bishop's Leadership Team

The Bishop's Leadership Team is chaired and led by the Diocesan Bishop, Rt Rev Julian Henderson and, with God's guidance, it is a key part of the decision-making process of the Diocese, alongside the Diocesan Synod and the Bishop's Council. 

The Bishop's Leadership Team drives forward our Vision 2026 Healthy Churches Transforming Communities. 

The Team meets once a month on the first Monday, with a longer gathering, involving a residential retreat at Whalley Abbey, once a year in May. 

Please note: At the current time members of the Team, in common with all Diocesan staff, may be working from home instead of the Diocesan Offices. 

 

The Rt Rev Julian Henderson

Bishop of Blackburn

Based at Bishop's House

Secretary: Jennie Bentham                                                          e: secretary@bishopofblackburn.org.uk
Assistant Secretary: Jill Ghafoor
e: assistantsecretary@bishopofblackburn.org.uk

Tel 01254 248234


The Rt Rev Philip North

Suffragan Bishop of Burnley

Based at the Diocesan offices

Personal Assistant: Louise Hunter
e: louise.hunter@blackburn.anglican.org

Tel 01254 503087

 


The Rt Rev Dr Jill Duff 

Suffragan Bishop of Lancaster 

Based at the Diocesan offices

Personal Assistant: Judith Henderson
e: judith.henderson@blackburn.anglican.org 

Tel 01254 503090


The Ven Mark Ireland

Archdeacon of Blackburn

Based at the Diocesan offices

Personal Assistant: Kelly Quinn
e: kelly.quinn@blackburn.anglican.org

Tel 07384 819825

 


The Ven David Picken

Archdeacon of Lancaster

Based at the Diocesan Offices

Personal Assistant: Gill Beeley
e: gill.beeley@blackburn.anglican.org

Tel 01254 503274

 

 


The Very Rev Peter Howell-Jones

Dean of Blackburn 

Based at Blackburn Cathedral offices

Executive Assistant & Operations Manager: Pauline Rowe
e: pauline.rowe@blackburncathedral.co.uk 

Tel 01254 277430

 


Rev Sam Cheeseman

Bishop's Chaplain

Based at Bishop's House

e: chaplain@bishopofblackburn.org.uk

Tel 01254 248234

 

 


Canon Graeme Pollard

Diocesan Secretary

Based at the Diocesan offices

Personal Assistant: Jenny Simpkin
e: jenny.simpkin@blackburn.anglican.org

 


Canon Stephen Whittaker

Director of Education

Based at the Diocesan offices

Personal Assistant: Helen Morris
e: helen.morris@blackburn.anglican.org

 


Ronnie Semley, MCIPR; DipCIPR

Diocesan Communications Manager

Based at the Diocesan offices

e: ronnie.semley@blackburn.anglican.org

Administrative support: Karen Ashcroft
e: karen.ashcroft@blackburn.anglican.org


Vacant

Director of Discipleship

Based at the Diocesan offices

 


Revd Sarah Siddique Gill

Vicar of St Stephen's with St James' in Blackburn

Bishop’s Advisor on UKME issues

 

 


Rev Nick McKee

Director of Vocations

Based at the Diocesan offices

Administrator: Rosie Strachan
e: rosie.strachan@blackburn.anglican.org

 


Carolyn Barton

Director of Vision Delivery

Based at the Diocesan offices

e: carolyn.barton@blackburn.anglican.org

 

 

 


Joy Rushton

Being Witnesses Manager

Based at the Diocesan offices

e: joy.rushton@blackburn.anglican.org

 

 

 

 

Ronnie Semley, last updated July, 2021

 

You might also be interested in...


Pages

Latest News

Upcoming Events