Site search

Last updated 27th September 2019

Meet the Bishop's Leadership Team

The Bishop's Leadership Team is chaired and led by the Diocesan Bishop, Rt Rev. Julian Henderson and, with God's guidance, it is a key part of the decision-making process of the Diocese, alongside the Diocesan Synod and the Bishop's Council. 

The Bishop's Leadership Team drives forward our Vision 2026 Healthy Churches Transforming Communities and comprises the Diocesan Bishop and the Suffragan Bishops; both Archdeacons; the Dean; the Diocesan Secretary; the Diocesan Communications Manager; The The Vision Coordinator and the Directors of Education, Vocations and Discipleship. 

The Team meets once a month on the first Monday, with a longer gathering, involving a residential retreat at Whalley Abbey, once a year in May. 

 

The Rt Rev. Julian Henderson

Bishop of Blackburn

Based at Bishop's House

Secretary: Jennie Bentham                                                          e: secretary@bishopofblackburn.org.uk

Assistant Secretary: Jill Ghafoor
e: assistantsecretary@bishopofblackburn.org.uk


The Rt Rev. Philip North

Suffragan Bishop of Burnley

Based at the Diocesan offices

Secretary: Louise Hunter
e: louise.hunter@blackburn.anglican.org

 


The Rt Rev. Dr Jill Duff 

Suffragan Bishop of Lancaster 

Based at the Diocesan offices

Secretary: Judith Henderson
e: judith.henderson@blackburn.anglican.org 

 


The Ven. Mark Ireland

Archdeacon of Blackburn

Based at the Diocesan offices

Personal Assistant: Kelly Quinn
e: kelly.quinn@blackburn.anglican.org

 

 


Archdeacon of Lancaster

Position currently vacant

In absence of the Archdeacon, in the first instance, email:

Personal Assistant: Gill Beeley
e: gill.beeley@blackburn.anglican.org

 


The Very Rev. Peter Howell-Jones

Dean of Blackburn Cathedral

Based at Blackburn Cathedral offices

Secretary: Pauline Rowe
e: pauline.rowe@blackburncathedral.co.uk 

 

 


Canon Graeme Pollard

Diocesan Secretary

Based at the Diocesan offices

Personal Assistant: Jenny Simpkin
e: jenny.simpkin@blackburn.anglican.org


Canon Stephen Whittaker

Director of Education

Based at the Diocesan offices

Personal Assistant: Helen Morris
e: helen.morris@blackburn.anglican.org

 


 

Ronnie Semley, MCIPR; DipCIPR

Diocesan Communications Manager

Based at the Diocesan offices

e: ronnie.semley@blackburn.anglican.org

Administrative support: Karen Ashcroft
e: karen.ashcroft@blackburn.anglican.org


Ruth Hassall

Director of Discipleship

Based at the Diocesan offices

Secretary: Siobhan Trickett
e: siobhan.trickett@blackburn.anglican.org

 

 


Rev Nick McKee

Director of Vocations

Based at the Diocesan offices

Administrator: Rosie Strachan
e: rosie.strachan@blackburn.anglican.org

 


Mrs Carolyn Barton

Vision Coordinator

Based at the Diocesan offices

e: carolyn.barton@blackburn.anglican.org

 

 

 

 

 

Ronnie Semley, updated July 2019