Site search

Last updated 25th April 2019

Meet the Bishop's Leadership Team

The Bishop's Leadership Team is chaired and led by the Diocesan Bishop, Rt Rev. Julian Henderson and, with God's guidance, it is a key part of the decision-making process of the Diocese, alongside the Diocesan Synod and the Bishop's Council. 

The Bishop's Leadership Team drives forward our Vision 2026 Healthy Churches Transforming Communities and comprises the Diocesan Bishop and the Suffragan Bishops; both Archdeacons; the Dean; the Diocesan Secretary and the Diocesan Communications Manager. 

The Team meets once a month on the first Monday, with a longer gathering, involving a residential retreat at Whalley Abbey, once a year in May. 


The Rt Rev. Julian Henderson

Bishop of Blackburn

Based at Bishop's House

Secretary: Jennie Bentham                                                          e:

Assistant Secretary: Jill Ghafoor                                                e:


The Rt Rev. Dr Jill Duff 

Suffragan Bishop of Lancaster 

Based at the Diocesan offices

Secretary: Judith Henderson




The Rt Rev. Philip North

Suffragan Bishop of Burnley

Based at the Diocesan Offices

Secretary: Louise Hunter
e: Louise.Hunter@Blackburn.Anglican.Org




The Ven. Mark Ireland

Archdeacon of Blackburn

Based at the Diocesan Offices

Personal Assistant: Kelly Quinn
e: Kelly.Quinn@Blackburn.Anglican.Org




The Ven. Michael Everitt

Archdeacon of Lancaster

Based at the Diocesan Offices

Personal Assistant: Gill Beeley




The Very Rev. Peter Howell-Jones

Dean of Blackburn Cathedral

Based at Blackburn Cathedral Offices

Secretary: Pauline Rowe





Canon Graeme Pollard

Diocesan Secretary

Based at the Diocesan offices

Personal Assistant: Jenny Simpkin



Ronnie Semley, MCIPR; DipCIPR

Diocesan Communications Manager

Based at the Diocesan Offices


Administrative support: Karen Ashcroft