Site search

Last updated 28th August 2018

Parish Mission Support

The Parish Mission Support Department exists to serve the churches and communities of Blackburn Diocese.  The range of work covered by the department is represented by the 'Five Marks of Mission'.

  • To proclaim the good news of the kingdom 
  • To teach, baptize and nurture new believers
  • To respond to human need by loving service
  • To seek to transform unjust structures of society
  • To strive to safeguard the integrity of creation and sustain and renew the earth

    These five marks can be sumarised as Tell, Teach, Tend, Transform and Treasure.

    To understand what it means to apply these to our churches, we are guided by the publication of the Church of England report Mission-Shaped Church. The report identifies five characteristics for a missionary church:-

    • A missionary church is focused on God the Trinity
    • A missionary church is incarnational
    • A missionary church is transformational
    • A missionary church makes disciples
    • A missionary church is relational