COUNTDOWN TO THE ARCHBISHOP OF YORK'S VISIT TO OUR DIOCESE, MAY 27-29. Click here for more information and booking details
Site search

Last updated 20th October 2021

General Synod elections 2021; results for Houses of Clergy and Laity

General Synod election results 2021; overview

The General Synod elections for the Diocese of Blackburn have taken place and the results are now known and are listed below.

  • Please note, the 'Forms of Return', with a breakdown of the elections are also on this page, below. 

Counting took place on the morning of October 13, 2021. 

Our Diocese is entitled to send five elected members of the Clergy and six elected members of the Laity to the new Synod.

Synod considers and approves legislation affecting the whole of the Church of England, formulates new forms of worship, debates matters of national and international importance, and approves the annual budget for the work of the Church at national level. 

Results for House of Clergy and House of Laity elections

As Presiding Officer for the General Synod elections I can now announce that, following the count of votes earlier today, the candidates elected to represent the diocese are:

As Proctors (House of Clergy) 

Revd Paul Benfield

Revd Stephen Corbett

Revd Alex Frost

The Venerable Mark Ireland

Revd Dr Tom Woolford

As Members of the House of Laity

Stephen Boyall

Vivienne Goddard

Rosemary Lyon

Laura Oliver

Paul Ronson

Jacqueline Stamper

Forms of Return with elections in stages



With thanks to all candidates for their time and effort during the course of this General Synod election in 2021.

Thanks also to everyone who voted and let's now hold all of our elected representatives in our prayers as the new quinquennium and the work of a new Synod begins. 

Graeme Pollard

Presiding Officer
October 13, 2021

Date of first new General Synod

  • The dates for the first session of the newly elected Synod is 15-17 November, 2021. 

Elected candidates' addresses

All the addresses of those candidates from Blackburn Diocese who were elected are featured below. 

Proctors (House of Clergy) 

Rev Paul Benfield

Rev Stephen Corbett

Rev Alex Frost

The Venerable Mark Ireland

Rev Tom Woolford

Members of the House of Laity

Mr Stephen Boyall

Mrs Vivienne Goddard

Mrs Rosemary J Lyon

Dr Laura Oliver

Mr Paul Ronson

Ms Jacqueline Stamper




Ronnie Semley, October 2021

You might also be interested in...


Latest News

Upcoming Events