CORONAVIRUS: Our latest updates; the 'coronavirus compendium'; general information; links to resources Click here for more
Site search

Last updated 23rd November 2020

General Synod

The General Synod considers and approves legislation affecting the whole of the Church of England, formulates new forms of worship, debates matters of national and international importance, and approves the annual budget for the work of the Church at national level. 

The General Synod comprises the Convocations of Canterbury and York, joined together in a House of Bishops and a House of Clergy, to which is added a House of Laity.

It meets in February in London and in July in York, and occasionally in November in London. 

Key links:

Blackburn Diocese representatives at General Synod (2015-2020)

As well as the Bishop of Blackburn (ex-officio member) the following are elected members of General Synod:


  • The Revd Paul Benfield                      Burnley St Andrew with St Margaret and
                                                               Burnley St James and Burnley St Mark
  • The Revd Stephen Corbett                Blackburn St Gabriel
  • The Revd Canon Alistair McHaffie    Preston The Risen Lord
  • The Revd Chris Newlands                 Lancaster Priory
  • The Revd Nancy Goodrich                Bolton-le-Sands Holy Trinity


  • Mr Stephen Boyall                              Preston All Saints
  • Mrs Vivienne Goddard                       Tarleton Holy Trinity
  • Mrs Carolyn Johnson                         Bilsborrow St Hilda
  • Mrs Rosemary Lyon                            Appley Bridge All Saints
  • Ms Jacqueline Stamper                      Lancaster Christ Church
  • Mrs Susan Witts                                   Lower Darwen St James


April 2019 Election to fill a Casual Vacancy in the House of Clergy result

Elections to General Synod happen every five years.




You might also be interested in...


Latest News

Upcoming Events